Stafrænn Hákon

Í ástandi rjúpunnar (20th anniversary reissue)

January 7, 2022

Í ástandi rjúpunnar (20th anniversary reissue)
Choose your preferred streaming service


This is revamped anniversary edition of our second album "Í ástandi rjúpunnar" originally self-released in January 2002 and later properly released by UK´s now defunct Resonant. Whilst going through this process some re-recordings were made to make this edition more enhanced listening experience. The goal was to make the album stick as it was recorded so the songs are presented as they were intended to. However here and there some old recordings were replaced and therefore we believe they album got a well deserved upgrade on it´s anniversary.

Original press from Resonant Records:
Following the success of "Skvettir edik á ref" in Autumn 2003 - an album that stood out and received unanimous acclaim purely on the strength of the music, which makes it a rare phenomenon in the current climate. Key to this was the inclusion of a track on the 10th Wire Tapper covermount - this alone prompted several emails to the label from many countries.

Though this is his second full-length on Resonand Records in 2003, "I ástandi rjúpunnar" was actually recorded and self-released in Iceland in January 2002, before "Skvettir edik á ref", so this was originally his sophomore album in effect. Musically, the two albums inhabit the same territory - glacial, widescreen post-rock soundscapes, at once emotive, engaging and affecting - but if anything the music herein is more organic and mellow than on "Skvettir edik á ref".

SUPPORTERS of the first Stafrænn Hákon releases were numerous and widespread, including: The Wire, Comes With a Smile, SBN radio, XFM Dublin (who selected "Kofi" from "Skvettir..." as one of their favourite tracks of 2003),, Dusted (America) (who've selected SH as one of their 10 'Destined' artists to watch in 2004) - expect this release to elevate things to the next level…

Ólafur Josephsson:
Guitars, Bass, Drums, Piano, Synths

Samúel White:
Guitar on Hvíti hákarlinn & Hvarf

Þröstur Sigurðsson
Trombone on Solution & Iodine

Þóra Magga:
Flute on Solution


Hvíti hákarlinn
Solution (4-track demo)
Elgur (2021 version)
Upphaf (4-track demo)
Kalt loft (4-track demo)
Iodine (demo version)
Iodine (Calm 4-track version)